Top Ten of 2011

Hosted by Broke and Bookish

2011 was a big year for me as a reader. I read 39 books (and counting), which for some people is not much. For me, that’s almost as many books as I’d read in the past 4 years combined. I’m glad it was such a strong reading year, and I’m excited to continue it next year. But don’t let me get ahead of myself. Before I can get into next year, I need to finish this year. So here are my

Top Ten Books I Read in 2011

They are in the order in which I read them, so you can read into that whatever you’d like. I’m pretty sure it means nothing, but hey, do what you want.

1) Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

This was the first book I’d read in a while that I could not stop reading because I was enjoying it so much. Mockingbird jump-started my year of reading, and I haven’t looked back.

2) Looking for Alaska by John Green

I was late to the John Green bandwagon, but I’m not getting off it now. I read this in February, but the characters still haunt me. I’m pretty sure I only stopped reading this one to sleep. I didn’t even eat.

3) Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Pretty much the outstanding novel you’d expect from two amazing authors.

4) Sparrow Road by Sheila O’Connor

In one word: beautiful. There’s a perfect balance of mystery and wonder overlaying the story of Raine as she finds herself and more at the resort at Sparrow Road.

5) Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I wanted to like this book, and it turns out I loved it. A powerful and masterfully told story.

6) Divergent by Veronica Roth

I’m a sucker for a good dystopian. I’m even more of a sucker for a great dystopian, which Divergent definitely is.

7) The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

This book is told like a years-old legend, and the magic it invites the reader to believe in is powerful stuff. I don’t know why I had been putting this one off.

8) The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Again, I know I’m late to the party on this one (by a couple years), but wow. I love this book, and I’m glad I finally picked it up and gave it a whirl. Awesome read.

9) A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

There’s a reason this is showing up on nearly everyone’s short list for best books of 2011. It’s beautiful, it’s dark, it’s haunting, but most of all: it’s amazing.

10) Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu

There is something truly wonderful about this book. Fantasy and reality are mixed together in a beautiful way.

Honorable Mention: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I couldn’t believe I put my top ten together and this wasn’t in there. Seriously great debut novel. I can’t classify it into one genre: it’s just about everything. If this were a top 11 list, there’s no doubt this book would have made the list.

Happy 2011, everyone! Time to look forward to a great year of reading in 2012.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten of 2011

  1. Mara Dyer was a close one for my list as well. And I love that Frankie made it to your list! She’s one of my favorite characters 🙂

    • Thanks! It seems like it was a really good year for books. I wish I had read more — though I’m happy with what I did read. Looking around the blogosphere, many people found quite a bit to enjoy in 2011!

  2. Of all the books on your list, I’ve only read Divergent. I agree that it was fantastic. I’ll have to check out some more of your suggestions. I like fairy tale retellings, so I’m intrigued by Breadcrumbs, although I’ve read that it’s a bit dark. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for your comment! I hope you get a chance to check out some more of these. I was especially pleased with Breadcrumbs. I tend to read more 14-year old and up YA than I do middle-grades stuff, so I didn’t know how I’d like it. Turns out it was great!

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

