Who I Am [Not]

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about who I am as a teacher, and that’s really been greatly affected by those I’ve come across through various social media outlets over the last couple years. I made a video today that sort of talks about that. Check it out.

Basically, I am me, and that’s a really good person to be. I’m glad to be influenced by so many wonderful people, but they are them. I cannot be them, nor should I be them, because they’re already doing a really good job. I need to be me, because that’s the only person I can do a really good job at being. So I’m gonna do that.

6 thoughts on “Who I Am [Not]

  1. It’s such a trap we all fall into wanting to be like others when we see the cool stuff they’re doing. This is an excellent reminder to be ourselves and be inspired by others’ ideas to bring pieces into our own work while being true to our own styles. Thank you for this.

  2. Thanks, Brian. I think it’s amazing to gather inspiration from our online friends and mentors, but like you I also get trapped into that realm of “I gotta do what they’re ALL doing.” It gets overwhelming, making it difficult to keep a clear sense of self through it all. I really appreciate your candor about this. I needed somebody to kinda shake me by the shoulders, and you did just that. Thanks.

  3. This reminds me of my fave quote, which I’d forgotten about.
    To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting. ~e.e. cummings, 1955

    It is difficult to just be. I struggle with accepting my contributions for what they are, MINE. My hardest fight is with myself. I’m putting my weapons down. Thank you for reminding that’s it’s good to be me. I’m awesome in my own right.

  4. Love this message! It’s so hard to NOT compare oneself to all of these awesome people. What a great reminder that we have to stay true to who WE are as our own person.

  5. This is a really good video/post, Brian. I feel the EXACT same way you do! I’m constantly comparing myself to the teachers I interact with on Twitter and thinking about what I should be doing. You’re right though, we are the teachers we are and we can’t be anyone else. We can learn from the people we interact with and follow. The nice thing is that because of who we are as individuals, we’ll put our own special spin on what we’re learning from others.

  6. I took a long time to start my blog and get tweeting for many of the same reasons. I would find so many awesome people and want to “be like them”. I then took a step back and realized that I didn’t have to recreate the wheel. I found a couple of passionate, passionate book-lovers and they are my gurus. I found an awesome tech tools guy – he is my go-to. It gave me the chance to be the blogger/educator that I wanted to be – focusing on what is current and how I will apply in my teaching. This whole process is something I share with my kids as I try and help them figure out who they are, what role they will fill. Great post – thanks!

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

