Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral

Sometimes a book is just so fascinating a concept, you can’t help but read it. Chopsticks is definitely one of those.

Told entirely through pictures, there is definitely a new mold being cast with this one. I wasn’t really certain what to expect going in, but I had a feeling I would like it.

I was not wrong.

We begin our story with clips from a newscast about a missing girl — world-famous piano prodigy Glory Fleming. Then we skip back to 18 months earlier. Clearly, there’s more to this story than just a missing person.

We see Glory’s upbringing, and her father pushing her to piano performances, and Glory (Gloria, actually) enjoying them. But of course, things change. They always do.

Enter Francisco.

He moves in next door, and he and Gloria soon hit it off. But then Gloria is off to tour Europe.

You know what, I need to stop this review. I can’t do this book justice. I’m trying to talk about it as if it’s a normal book. It’s not. It doesn’t deserve a normal review.

This book is not about the story. I mean, okay, it is. But it’s about how it’s told. Pictures. Letters. Memos. This story is told through emotions rather than through words. This book is something different, and it’s wonderful.

I think this book is a perfect fit for a high schooler who feels a little different. Or a college student who has that certain level of artsy whimsy. The story is really a timeless one (sort of Romeo & Juliet-esque), but it’s never been told this way. Check it out. It’ll probably take you less than an hour.

A few risqué images should probably keep this out of a middle school classroom, but I’d say it’s okay high school and older.

Personally, I loved this book and I hope to see more stories told this way in the future. It’s just too neat not to do.

My rating: 5 out of 5 fish. 

 

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

