Audio Book Road Trip!

Those of you who know me on a more personal level (not that personal, just, you know, as a person, not just as a faceless blogger [or do I have a picture up here?]) may know that I took a road trip to Manitoba at the beginning of April.

If you’re wondering/don’t know, I live in Michigan. This was about an 18 1/2-hour drive, one-way. So about 37 hours in a car, over 4 days of driving. Being a member of the Nerdy Book Club, this could mean only one thing:

PIE!

Well, a little bit of pie. If you’re ever near Osseo, Wisconsin, you must stop at the Norske Nook and have some pie. It’s phenomenal. But you might find yourself writing poems about it later and having some people wonder if it’s erotica.

Anyway, 37 hours in a car also means another thing:

AUDIO BOOKS!

The week before my trip, I gassed up Le Grande Topaz (my wonderful car), got an oil change, got new tires, and got some books. And yes, I know my use of “got” in that sentence is terribly wrong. It was for effect. ::chases those particular grammar bullies off with a stick (and logic)::

I settled on five books I knew would keep me good company:

  • Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King
  • Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
  • Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton
  • Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride
  • Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

I completed 4 of these on the trip, while the 5th had to wait (disc 5 of 10 was completely ruined by a previous listener, so needed some intense cleaning. It is has been restored to health and is currently being completed while I drive about town).

Side note that cannot wait: if you encounter or create scratches or anything else on your library audio books (such as disc 5 of Just Listen, that looked like someone mistook it for bread when they were making a jam sandwich), please be sure to tell them at the circulation desk! Many libraries have ways to fix this, but they’ll never know if they’re not told! Do your part.

Anyway, the point here: I am going to attempt to review these audio books over the next week, in order. So Monday, we will begin with Everybody Sees the Ants.

Just a word of caution: I have told myself that I am not going to force myself to stick to schedules on the blog. That means that while I hope to review one each day, it might end up being one each week. Also, if I’m not done with Just Listen by Friday, I won’t be posting a review (though I only have a couple discs to go, so I should be finished). But come on by, and I’ll try to have things posted.

And for your next road trip: think audio books!

One thought on “Audio Book Road Trip!

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Audiobook Favorites | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

