I Am a Teacher

As many of you may know (at least if you’re connected to me on Twitter or Facebook), I recently resigned from my job as a high school English teacher. I can’t get into the details, but this has left me, for really the first time in my adult life, open to pursue anything I want. Sure, I have two degrees in education, but I also have a wide range of abilities and skills. I have over 6 years of experience in retail. I have a passion for Catholicism and the truths it contains. I have an ability to play drums pretty well. I have a love of books and growing connections in the publishing and bookselling worlds. I have a desire to analyze the world through a mathematical lens.

But ultimately, all of these fall short. These are things I have. These are things I can do. They’re not who I am.

Then, the other night, I had a dream. I barely remember it. But what I do remember is I was in front of a group of students. I was explaining the activity we were about to do. I corrected myself from saying “was” to “were” in a very intentional way. I was walking amongst them, making sure they all heard the instructions and weren’t just passing notes and then have to ask me questions later.

I was teaching.

And I woke up incredibly happy.

That’s when I realized: yes, it would be a lot of fun to work in the publishing industry. Yes, I enjoyed working retail and might be able to work my way up to a managerial position. Yes, I love Catholicism and could find a job somewhere in the Church. But these things are not who I am.

I am a teacher.

And I can’t wait to continue being who I am.

7 thoughts on “I Am a Teacher

  1. I’ve never met you in person, but without a doubt teaching is your calling. I completely agree that teaching is not what we do, but who we are. So hope that you stay the course and find yourself in front of a classroom of young people very soon – our profession (and kids) need passionate teachers like you!

    • Well said…being a teacher is a statement of being. Not just anyone can be a teacher. It is innate. I am proud to be able to call myself a teacher and I am blessed to have the chance to be a teacher alongside of many other talented, passionate colleagues. When I read posts like this, I am even more excited that I am who I am and that there are others out there who share my passion.

  2. I met you briefly at something called nerd camp, but it was enough time for me to realize there is something more to you. I was drawn to you because I saw wisdom and sincerity. I hope whatever you decide to do fills you with joy because I think you’re someone who can do great things.

  3. Somehow I missed the Tweet so I didn’t know. I believe that all things happen for a reason, even if the purpose isn’t immediately apparent to us. It strikes that you went out on a limb or are living by faith-either way, it takes courage to step away from what’s comfortable and trust that the right position will come your way.
    I love your post. I’ve learned from you. Yes, you are a teacher. 😃

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

