Slice of Life: Six Stars

Slice of Life

Yesterday, I had a student finish the book she had been working on for a few weeks. I asked her how many stars out of 5 she would give the book. Her response, without even stopping to think: “SIX!” I’ll have a talk with her math teacher about quantities, but her excitement was palpable.

Immediately, I thought of Colby Sharp and an idea he had shared with me a couple years ago: his secret six-star book list. This is a list of 10 books that Colby keeps (just for himself). These 10 books would be the 10 best books he’s read (or best reading experiences, or. . .well, whatever he wants; it’s his list). The point is there’s only 10 books on this list. If another book makes the list, then one has to get bumped. I think it’s a pretty cool idea.

I explained the idea to this student, and I asked her, just to be sure: “Would this book be on your list of your top ten books you’ve ever read?” She quickly agreed, adding that she thinks it’s the best book she’s ever read. She went on to swoon about it for about 2 minutes.

The book, in case you’re wondering: Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles. So congratulations, Jo! Something you made has impacted someone’s life forever for the better. That’s gotta be pretty cool.

Currently, the student is on a project to determine the best basket for the book (we have small collections with titles such as “Awesome Heroines,” “Sad Fantasy,” “Revisionist History,” and “Get You Right In the Feels”). She doesn’t think it fits in any of those, so she’s coming up with a collection name that will be suitable to the book.

Maybe we should make a 6-star basket.

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life: Six Stars

  1. Way to keep me curious. Jo Knowles humbles and amazes me. One of my students is finishing “See You at Harry’s” today. I don’t have “Jumping Off Swings” but have planned to buy it for a long time. Today’s the day! Oh, you gave me a lesson plan idea, too. Cool!

    • Her books are absolutely stellar. Jumping Off Swings is for a bit of an older audience than See You at Harry’s, but if you’re at the HS level, it should go over well. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

