Slice of Life: Why Do We Do It? Revisited

Slice of Life

Today, I received an e-mail from a parent. Out of respect for the privacy of this parent and my student, I’m not going to go into details. But it was one of those e-mails that just validated everything that I do as an English teacher. It showed me, in no uncertain terms, that what I do works. This is why I do this. This is why so many of us do this.

Not for the e-mails, though those are nice.

We do this because it works.

It freaking works.

I hope you all get e-mails like this one, too. It makes all the difference. Maybe you should go send one.

One thought on “Slice of Life: Why Do We Do It? Revisited

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

