Slice of Life: A Memorable Day

Slice of Life

I’ve only thrice in my teaching career showed up for work and then left, sick. The first time, back in spring 2010, I had the swine flu. The third time was a week ago today. The second time was a year ago today.

I got to school and my body just wasn’t feeling it. Cramps, difficulty catching my breath, headache. I wasn’t going to be able to make it through the day. I went home before first hour even began.

But then, as I got home, I actually started feeling better. So I told myself, “Self, take a nap. If you feel better by noon, then I think today’s the day.”

So I took a nap.

And I felt better.

So noon came. I came up with a plan that was nothing like I had thought of to that point, even though I had thought for more than I’d ever thought of anything else about how and when to do what I was about to do. And then I started the 3-hour drive to Canada.

When i got there, I had to make a stop and pick up an order I had put in a few weeks ago. “When do you plan to give this?” they asked. “If all goes well, in just a couple hours!” They wished me luck, and I was on my way.

As I got to my girlfriend’s apartment, her roommate was [fortunately] not home. That allowed me to make some preparations.

But I was ready too early. I texted my brother, and he was excited (and distracted me from my nerves a bit).

Then my girlfriend got home.

I hit play, and she walked up the rose-petal covered staircase while our song was playing in the background, until she opened her bedroom door and saw me, ring in hand.

One year ago today, I made the best decision of my life as I proposed to my then-girlfriend. And she said yes! Life has never been the same, but it has been sweeter every day.

Happy engage-aversary, my beautiful wife!

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life: A Memorable Day

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

