#CatholicEdChat

Every Saturday, at 9 AM Eastern, Catholic educators (or I should say educators in Catholic schools) gather on Twitter under the hashtag #CatholicEdChat. Though it is designed for those teaching in Catholic schools, the topics are generally good for anyone to be a part of. After all, at its heart, Catholic education is still about education.

This summer, as I’ve moved schools and cities, I haven’t been able to keep up on really anything as much as I wish I had. #CatholicEdChat has been one of those things I haven’t really kept up on. But I saw it active as I woke up this morning, so I figured I’d hop in. I’m glad I did. Today, the topic was blogging.

I’m not going to transcribe the whole chat or even summarize it. But we talked about teachers blogging and students blogging. School policies were discussed. Fears of putting oneself out there were discussed. And it made me realize that I need to do more to get my students blogging. I’m not sure where I’ll begin with this, but it is something I want to do (and if I’m not mistaken, it’s somewhere in the CCSS, no?).

So, what are your ideas? How do you blog with your students? How do you have your students blog? I’m curious to hear what you have to say. Leave a comment or a link to your own post below!

4 thoughts on “#CatholicEdChat

  1. A lot of my college freshman use Tumblr and consider themselves “bloggers,” which is interesting because I tend to think of blogging as long-form entries using a platform like WordPress. I asked them if they blogged their own content or reblogged others’ content, and it was a fairly even mix.

    I also had a student last year create a Tumblr site for her multigenre research project that was presented at the Celebration of Student Writing. It was beautiful.

    So….maybe consider Tumblr? I love that Tumblr can incorporate not just alphabetic text, but videos and images, and you can reblog (annotated or not). I think students might enjoy creating a visual representation of what they are learning that reaches beyond alphabetic text response and creates a multidimensional – something with branches in all directions – space to connect their learning. One of our teachers here at EMU does this by pairing text with music and images and he calls it transmediation… Literary Jukebox on Brainpickings is another example.

    Anyway, just an idea. Digital IS through the NWP might be useful too. 🙂

  2. I blogged last year and it was fabulous. I used a Ning but this year I am moving to kidblog and I’m really excited about it!

    The kids blog every other week and must comment on two other blogs. They use a google form to submit their blogs and comments to me so I can track them.

  3. I’m trying blogging with my students this year too. My plan is to have them blog on Kidblog and have that where only they can comment. Then I will have three students a week collaborate on a blog about our class and put it on the class website – that is open so they will be able to “connect globally” in that way. We’ll see how it goes.

    • I like the idea of the class blog. What will they blog about?

      And I was thinking of Kidblog, but I wonder if I should go with something more formal for the high schoolers. I think Nick Provenzano has his students blog…I should pick his brain.

Leave a Reply. Or a fish.

